Hey Bibliophiles, This Blog is For You

 I admit it, I love reading. I have ever since the first, “See Jane run,” phrase came into my life. In fact, while I don’t remember learning how to read, I can remember the first sentence of the first book that really caught my attention. I was in the fifth grade and I acquired a little pink library book with four girls on the cover. The first sentence began with, “Christmas won’t be Christmas without any presents…”

I was hooked. Little Women became my favorite book and Louisa May Alcott officially became my first favorite author. She was quickly followed by Jane Austen, Beverly Cleary, Elisabeth Friermood, Carson McCullers, Georgette Heyer, and later Maya Angelou (I got to meet her when I was 18, so cool), M. M. Kaye, J.R.R. Tolkien, Agatha Christie, Phyllis A. Whitney, Mary Stewart, and for a short while, Stephen King, Peter Straub, James Baldwin, Nikki Giovanni, Richard Wright, and Zane Grey (I know, cowboy stories). But it’s true.

I read many genres. Titles such as The Baseball Life of Mickey Mantle, The Catcher in the Rye, To Kill A Mockingbird, The Secret Garden, Helter Skelter, The Godfather, Shirley Temple’s Storybook (Fairy Tales), Shadow Castle, the Time Life series on Crimes & Punishment,  Truman Capote’s Breakfast at Tiffany’s (I couldn’t do In Cold Blood) and so many others I can’t even begin to list them all…The Bobbsey Twins, The Five Little Peppers, Hans Brinker, Encyclopedia Brown, Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, Trixie Belden, Archie, Marvel and D.C. comic books, The Little Engine that Could (I think I can, I think I can).

But to this day, I have yet to finish The House of the Seven Gables. I’m still on page two, and it has been weeeelll over 20 years since I started it. I even bought a copy of the book from the library for 25 cents a few years ago. I haven’t opened it yet.

I also have never finished Wuthering Heights (I did my English Lit book report using the comic book version, got an A, so no complaints here), and I did not like Jane Eyre enough to even bother (my apologies to you Bronte fans). At any rate, I love to read. Through books I have traveled to different countries and learned about various cultures. I can’t begin to tell you how many rounds of Trivia Pursuit I’ve won because of the weird, obscure and random things I know.

I’ve read funny stories, gruesome stories, true stories, fantasy, time travel, thrillers, suspense, romance and nonfiction titles. I’ve read about royal intrigue, warriors and maidens, heroes and villains, sword fights, human despair and triumphs. However, I only know of one Book that actually covers all of the genres and then some. I don’t just read it, it reads me. Yep, hands down it’s the best of them all.

Image In fact, I know the Author personally.

Yes indeed, I’ve read a lot of books and intend to read many more. I have a lot of books on my shelves (and let’s not even talk about my 4000+ electronic books. Friday is coming and the second book review comes with it.

I’ll look at my stack of books waiting to be reviewed and pull from there.  Image

A side note: I really want to do voiceovers and record books on tape professionally. I love acting out the parts and making the story come alive. I have a few friends in my life that like it when I read aloud – I’m kind of like the library lady at story time.

Some people read to escape, some to learn or discover, some to relax and for a myriad of other reasons. Some people hate to read. I read because I love it, and because I can. And yet, I read some statistics that show that there are literally 32 – 93 million U.S. adults and nearly 800 million worldwide that are classified as illiterate. Over 32 million adult U.S. citizens cannot read!

 http://statisticbrain.com/number-of-american-adults-who-cant-read/.

http://www.literacypartners.org/literacy-in-america/literacy-facts

I think this is something that I would like to help change. How about you?

To read or not to read – do you, read that is? What’s your top ten book list? Do you find some of yourself in the pages of the books that you read? Have you ever thought about contributing time, money and/or resources to help someone else become literate? I’m keeping it light today, so these are simple questions and of course you don’t even have to answer me because…I’m just asking.

Leave a Reply

