I Have Been to the Mountain!

Last Friday I headed to the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference, obeying the call of God to go. He had miraculously provided the way for me to attend. My expectations were not low, they were just unknown at the onset. Although I have a number of works in various stages of development, I did not go to pitch a book or project.  In fact, other than what I’ve carried around for the usual, customary part of my life, I didn’t even have cute business cards to hand out during the mix and mingle moments.

Through prayer, song, laughter, and conversations at meal times, between workshops, and wherever Holy Spirit graced me; understanding came. First realization: Whenever I look in the mirror, I am looking at someone that God loves. Although I can clearly see my numerous faults, insecurities, foibles, frailties and failures, it is no longer possible to continue to mistreat or disdain the woman I see in the mirror. Why? Because God loves me. Yes, Jesus really loves me!

Realization 2: I went to the conference to activate my transformation. I had some internal choices that I wanted to set into action. I made the choice to:

  1. Increase in humility.
  2. Become transparent in my interactions, and open in my response to the words of others.
  3. Eliminate the comfort zones in my life, including my comfort moods, foods and broods. Yes, I turned down the cookies, the cake, the donuts, the brownies and even the Red Vines. I also turned down self-imposed isolation, feigning confidence and every other vice that tended to mediocrity and stagnancy.

Realization 3: I am a writer. I have stories, lyrics, poetry, anecdotes and encouragements from the Father to share with others.

I literally was challenged on a public stage to confront some fears, insecurities and weak areas of confidence within myself. I humbled myself to hear God speak to me through others. It was almost like I was someone else. Almost. In truth, I was discovering the someone else that’s been hidden in me all along. I’m richer for the experience.

Here’s the thing: God did this major paradigm shift within me in just five short days. He did it for His purpose and because he loves me. Now, my expectancy and anticipation for the “more manifestations please” of my heart desires is at an all time high.

As you read this post, I wonder if you are considering the wants and desires that you seek from the Father. I’m referring to what He wants to lavish upon you even more than you desire to attain it. Imagine the beauty of a fulfilled hope or dream that you’ve carried in your heart for more days than you can count. Did you ever consider that it all begins when you recognize that the person you view in your mirror is one of His greatest loves? And by the way, do you embrace His love for you?

If you’re reading this and you have no connection whatsoever to this wonderful Father that I speak of, I want to share the words that Yeshua Messiah (Jesus Christ, the Anointed One) spoke in John 10:10, “The thief comes only in order to steal, kill, and destroy. I have come in order that you might have life—life in all its fullness.” This verse demonstrates the heart of my Heavenly Father. He sent His Son because He loves us. He wants to lavish love upon us. Those thoughts of doom, gloom and self-pity are designed to steal, kill and destroy hopes, dreams and the promise of an amazing life in the midst of opposition. I tell you the truth – the knowledge that He loves me anchored me when that thief came to try and rob me last week. Have you received His love today?

The view is beautiful from a mountain top, but even when we come down from the mountain, there is beauty and greatness to be discovered. It may be hidden for a moment in a pile of ugliness; but give God time. He’ll bring it out of you. Do you have a call from Him that you have yet to answer?  What’s the delay? You don’t have to know how to do it, you just have to say “Yes.” God knows how to take it from there.  What do you suppose He could change for you in just a short period of time…more or less? You are going to say, “Yes” aren’t you?

Of course, I’m not telling you what to do, that’s not my place. Nope, I’m just asking.

 

Leave a Reply

